Szabo Lab

Postdoctoral Associates

Mrigya Babuta, PhD

Mrigya is studying the exosome biogenesis and release in alcoholic liver disease. She is also interested in elucidating the Type1 IFN signaling and nucleic acid signaling in alcoholic liver disease.


Marcelle Ribeiro, PhD

Marcelle Ribeiro focuses on the study of inflammasomes and nucleic acid sensing pathways in non-alcoholic and alcoholic liver diseases.


Yuan Zhuang, PhD

Yuan is studying role of microRNAs in regulating alcoholic liver disease and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease.


Prashanth Thevkar Nagesh, PhD

Prashanth is studying immunophenotyping of PBMCs from alcoholic hepatitis patients and their functional profiling in response to PAMPs.


Radhika Joshi, PhD

Radhika is studying the mechanism of alcohol induced neuroinflammation and its effects on features of Alzheimer disease.


Marti Ortega Ribera, PhD

Martí is interested in understanding the crosstalk between liver sinusoidal endothelial cells and innate immune cell populations in the context of alcohol-related acute-on-chronic liver failure.

Graduate Students
Lab Staff

Olivia Potvin, PhD

Research Program Manager


Jeeval Mehta, BS

Research Assistant


Yanbo Wang, MS

Research Assistant

Name Dates Current Position
Adriana Ramos, PhD 2020-2021 Senior Scientist, Sanofi
Caroline Morel, PhD 2018-2020 Senior Scientist, Invicro, Boston, MA
Wei Luo, MD 2019-2020 Associate chief physician, Gastroenterology Department, The First Affiliated Hospital of Guangxi Medical University, Nannnig, Guangxi
David Tornai, MD 2017-2019 Research Fellow, University of Debrecen, Faculty of Medicine, Debrecen, Hungary
Vivek Chowdhary, PhD 2017-2019
Istvan Furi, PharmD 2015-2018
Terence Bukong, PhD 2014-2017
Xiaojing Wang, PhD 2015-2016
Aditya Ambade, PhD 2014-2016
Suvarthi Das, PhD 2016
Banishree Saha, PhD 2011-2016
Benedek Gyongyosi, MD 2014-2016
Fatemeh Momen-Heravi, DDS 2013-2015
Michal Ganz, MD 2011-2014
Timea Csak, MD, PhD 2008-2014
Jim Kyu-Park 2013
Johanna Bruneau, PhD 2011-2013
Terence Bukong, PhD 2011-2013
Dora Lippai, MD 2010-2013
Arijeet Gattu, MD, PhD 2010-2011 Post-Doc, Internal Medicine/Digestive Diseases, Yale University
Jan Petrasek, MD, PhD 2008-2013 Internal Medicine Resident, UT Southwestern University, Dallas, TX
Shuye Zhang, PhD 2009-2012 Assistant Professor, Fudan University, Shanghai, China
Miguel Martin-Marcos 2008-2009 Associate Professor, Physician Scientist, University Hospital Salamanca, Spain
Ivan Levin, MD 2009-2011 Internal Medicine Physician, Mount Ascutney Hospital, Woodstock, VT
Wei Hou, MD, PhD 2009-2011 Associate professor, Tianjin Infectious Disease Hospital, Supervisor for Master Degree candidates, Tianjin Medical University, Vice Dean, Tianjian Institute of Hepatology, China
Maoyin Pang, MD 2008-2009 Research Associate in Medicine, Brown University, Providence, RI
Shashi Bala, PhD 2008-2011 Instructor, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA
Doreen Soldato, PhD 2007
Shaun Murphy, PhD 2007
Adam Lelbach, MD 2006
Oxana Norkina, MD 2005-2007 Gastroenterology fellow, University of Florida
Istvan Hritz, MD 2004-2007 Gastroenterology Fellow
Arumugam Velayudham, MD (Resident and Clinical Investigator Pathway, Research Mentor) 2002-2008 Assistant Professor, University of New Mexico
Shilpa Oak, PhD 2002-2004
David Johnson, PhD 2002-2003
Laszlo Romics, Jr., MD 2001-2003 Staff surgeon, University of Glasgow, Scotland
Angela Dolganiuc, MD, PhD 2001-2007 Assistant Professor, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Yvonne Drechsler, PhD 1999-2005 Assistant Professor, Western University College of Veterinary Medicine
Asok Karuri, PhD 1999-2000
Cristina Gavala, MD 1999-2000 Staff Physician, Department of Medicine, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Worcester, MA
Sangeeta Chavan, PhD 1997-1998 Research fellow, NYU
Linda Newman, PhD 1994-1997 Assistant Professor, American University, Springfield, MA
Pranoti Mandrekar, PhD 1993-1998 Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Bikash Verma, DVM 1991-1994 Research Program Officer, Harvard School of Public Health
Miklos Fogarasi, MD 1990-1991 Hematology-Oncology Attending, Yale University Med. School

Name Dates Program
Yeonhee Cho 2015-2021
Arvin Iracheta-Vellve 2013-2017 Research Scientist II, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, MA
Abhishek Satishchandran 2011-2016 PSTP Medicine/GI, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Bharath Nath 2006-2009 MD/PhD Program University of Massachusetts Medical School
Christopher Marshall 2004-2007 Associated Professor, MD Program University of Massachusetts Medical School
Serena Chang 2004-2009 PhD Program, University of Massachusetts Medical School